July 2018 MAARC Monthly Meeting

Notice:  July 15th Meeting Moved to Sully Station 

The Davidsonville Family Recreation Center, where we usually meet, is closed because the main water pump has failed. All organizations that use the facility, including us, have suspended operations there until the pump is fixed.

We will meet at the Sully Station Community Center. This is where we regularly hold our April and December meetings. Regular starting times - tailgating from 10:00 am, presentation at 1:00 pm, auction at 2:00 p.m.
Here's the address: 

Sully Station Community Center
5101 Sequoia Farms Drive
Centreville VA

Directions from Interstate 495 (Washington DC beltway):

Take Interstate 66 West towards Front Royal for about 11 miles.
Take exit 53B onto Route 28, heading North.
After about 1.4 miles take the Westfields Blvd. exit, go West.
At the second light turn left onto Sequoia Farms Road.
After 0.1 mile turn right into the Community Center parking lot.

Directions from points West and Southwest of DC

Take Interstate 66, US Route 29, or US Route 50 East towards Washington DC.
From I66 or Route 29:
Exit onto Route 28, heading North. Then follow last three steps above.
From Route 50:
Exit onto Route 28, heading South.
After about 1.8 miles take the Westfields Blvd. exit, go West.
Then follow last two steps above.

Please pass the word about the location change to MAARC members who may be so committed to tube devices that they do not have or read email.


Sunday, July 15th

Tailgating at 11:00 and meeting at 1:00

Presentation Topic:  Matching Tubes

Presenters:  Dave Rossetti

Display Table:  Clocks with radio/TV brands on them


Check calendar for other events.


RadioActivity 2018 Old Equipment Contest Results

This year's Old Equipment Contest (OEC) had 61 entries with 109 pieces on display.  The theme, Westinghouse, was well represented.


Pictures of the winning and other OEC entries will be posted to the right or on the RadioActivity Photos Page.


Here are the winners:



 Category 1: Westinghouse Radios pre-1930

1st – Gary Alley, Radiola Super-Selective Combination

2nd – Dan Sohn, Westinghouse Receiver Equipment (Historical Merit Award)

3rd – Bill Goodwin, Westinghouse RC

Category 2: Westinghouse Radios post-1929

1st – Tom Shearer, Westinghouse H-447T4 plastic table radio

2nd – Roy Stehlik & Joanna Fabro, Westinghouse WR-222 wood tabletop radios

3rd – Jon Hall, Westinghouse WR-100 mini-tombstone radio -

Category 3: Westinghouse Ephemera

1st – Dave Rossetti, Westinghouse Tubes, caddies, and boxes

2nd – Eric Stenberg, Paris contest brochure

Category 4: WW II Radios (1938-1940)

1st - Roy Stehlik & Joanna Fabro, Zenith 7S558 console radio

2nd – Bill Goodwin, RCA 66X Catalin radio

3rd – Eric Stenberg, Crosley Morale radio

Category 5: Battery Radios including transistors sets

1st – David Willenborg, Arthur Lynch Radio (Preservation Award)

1st – Robert Lozier, Radiola M55 radio

2nd – Charlie Wilson, Federal 61 with antenna and horn speaker (Peoples Choice Award)

3rd – Bill Goodwin, Harper transistor radio

Category 6: Table-top radios of the 1930s

1st – Geoff Shearer, Emerson Model 45 (beauty)

2nd – Eric Stenberg, Silvertone 6320 wood table radio

Category 7: Vintage Hi-Fi & Audio equipment

1st – Gary Alley, Travis Tapak tape recorder

2nd – Geoff Shearer, Heathkit AR-1515

3rd – Domi Sanchez, Bell & Howell amplifier

Category 8: Paired Radios; same chasses, different cabinets

1st – Willie Sessoms and Geoff Shearer, General Television 520s

2nd – John Begg, Granco 601 & Sylvania 9000FM

3rd – Eric Stenberg, Airking Model 4s

Category 9: Speakers and Headphones

1st – Gary Alley, Dictograph speaker

2nd – Bill Goodwin, Music Master speaker with spruce bell

2nd – Buford Chidester, Splitdorf Conetone

3rd – Charlie Wilson, Stewart Warner Dancing Ladies

Category 10: Blue Radios

1st – Geoff Shearer, Stewart Warner Navy Blue and Gold

2nd – Eric Stenberg, Sonora 627

3rd – Bob Masterson, Olympic portable radio

Category 11: Patriot Radios (red, white, and blue)

1st – Geoff Shearer, Emerson EP-405 chest

2nd – Bill Goodwin, EP-406

Category 12: Advertising

1st – Rod Matzko, Westinghouse ads

2nd – Geoff Shearer, Radiotron Doll display

3rd - Roy Stehlik & Joanna Fabro, Philco dealer brochure and GE clock radio advertisement

Category 13: 1950s and 1960s tube radios

1st – Jon Hall, Hitachi WH-667

2nd - Roy Stehlik & Joanna Fabro

3rd – John Begg, colorful Emerson radios

Category 14: Open

1st – Robert Lozier, Oriole & Cascade battery radios (Best of Show Award)

2nd – Bill Goodwin, F.B. Chambers & Co. with loose coupler

3rd – Joe Koester, Foreign Radio display


Congratulations to all the winners and contest participants.

Additional information